top of page

The Symphonic Juncture

A [Symphonist]: "The one who is not afraid to raise the primal force."

- Boris Asafiev (1917)

A Moment in Time: VERSUS BPM 2017!


As I was doing some writing for my dissertation today, I was introduced to this seminal hip-hop battle moment from 2017 during the Versus BPM event. The competitors were the rappers Eldar Dzharakhov and Dmitry Larin, two unknown rappers to me but it seems as though their music is laden with potential (check out their YouTube channels!). Anyhow, I hope you enjoy watching as much as I did, try paying attention to the intricacy of their rap flows even if the language is unknown. For me, it's more about the way they handle the language in the flow and the quality of their dramaturgy through text than semantic meaning given that I am not yet fluent in Russian. Perhaps a hinderance but likewise a strong benefit!


Enjoy!

 





1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page